Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

And then the rains came…

So BBC got it right, at last. But I was ill prepared. Tony and I were out doing some shopping last night when the thunderstorm struck. First we hung around a street corner (under cover) marveling at the amazing thunder and lightening (it really was amazing). Then we decided that we’d sit it out in a cafe eating ice cream. Bad move. Sitting out a Bangladeshi thunderstorm just means that it rains more and the roads get even more flooded. So after an hour or so we decided to make a break for it and had to wade through mid-calf deep storm water. It wasn’t pleasant. Firstly, the roads are in really bad state here (open manhole, large potholes etc) so it’s quite dangerous to not be able to see where you’re stepping (and obviously our wading coincided with a power outage). And secondly, the open sewers on the sides of the street…with the water level so high, that meant wading through sewerage tainted flood water. Argggh. I had to delay my freak out until I got safely into the flat, otherwise I just wouldn’t have been able to do it. It was a loong shower for me last night. Pity we don’t have hot water.

PS I’ll get some more photos up here soon, as I’ve been pretty kak at that.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

