Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Morning walk around Moanoghar campus

I set my alarm for 5:30am for an early morning walk. I got out of bed at 6:40am. I’m not sure why it was such a struggle, I am really tired out here at the moment. Maybe it’s the heat  and humidity (a constant day time temperature of about 37 degrees, no aircon and frequent power cuts that kill the fans PLUS 80% humidity). Or maybe it’s my anti-malaria medication (I’ve read it’s one of the side effects. But then again just about everything is listed as a possible side effect for Doxycyline). Or maybe it’s my ridiculously thin, hard mattress. I can feel every slat of the bed through it. Despite me previously bragging about being able to sleep on anything after the ashram I think I’ll have to buy another mattress (or bed roll as they are called here) to go on top of this silly mattress. Maybe by the end of the year I’ll be sleeping on a stack on mattresses. Like in the Princes and the Pea.

So after I dragged my arse out of bed I did still manage a bit of walk around Moanoghar. It’s quite difficult to explain the campus/complex. It’s set on 15 acres with various buildings dotted around. A good place for a walk. I meant to check out the Moanoghar dairy but didn’t have time. Apparently there are about 20 cows and I can have morning milk delivered to my door. Will put in my milk request today and maybe check out the diary tomorrow.

I took a few photos on my mini walk. Below is the mini hospital and the office, along with a very large mango tree. Mango season is coming up in 15 -20 days I’m told (fruit seasons seem to be very specific here) so I’m looking forward to the mango feasts. It’s only the small mangoes here though. But there appears to be enough of them to make up for their deficiency in size.

img_2061

The mini-hospital with the office behind it.

One of the many, many Jackfruit trees here.

One of the many, many Jackfruit trees here.

I’d never tasted Jackfruit before I came here, but it’s the Bangladeshi national fruit. Does England have a national fruit? Does South Africa? People keep asking me, I must google it. I think it tastes like a mixture between a mango and a banana. You don’t eat the whole thing, just the fleshy bits/sheaths around the large pips/seeds. I find it a strange looking fruit. It doesn’t quite look right hanging from the trees, as if  the fruit is too big for the tree. (I’ve just googled Jackfruit and turns out its fruit is the largest tree borne fruit in the world. So there you go.)

View of one of the boys' dormitories

View of one of the boys’ dormitories

Photos of the dairy tomorrow hopefully, if I can get my lazy arse out of bed early enough.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

