Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Aste, aste (slowly, slowly)

I’m just over one week into work here at Moanoghar now. There is a LOT work to do here, but I’m having a bit of a problem figuring out how and where to start. I have to keep reminding myself that this is what the first few weeks in any new job is like, it’s not just particular to working in a struggling NGO in a developing country. Even my first few weeks in any Accenture project were slow, trying to figure things out, remembering people’s name, gaining confidence, and deciding how to tackle issues etc. So I had to have some strong words with myself last night, as I was feeling a bit despondent and a little lost. In other words, feeling a bit sorry for myself. Not having all the mod-cons of a UK office is also hitting me hard. It’s the simple things that I never thought about before – like having a white board for a meeting. There is one downstairs, and I’m making it my number 1 job today to get it moved upstairs and attached to the office wall here. Now that sounds like it’ll be a simple thing to do, but don’t be fooled. Things work differently out here for sure.

Anyway, I’ve hopefully moved on from aforementioned sorry-state, and I look forward to a productive day. I even have a dinner invite for tonight. An ex-pupil of Moanoghar school has invited me, he lives just down the road. Somewhere. It was originally going to be lunch, but since all of his family members wanted to ‘present’ themselves to me it’s been moved to dinner. No idea how many family members there are, so who knows what is on the cards. Slight problem, I can’t remember this young gentleman’s name. I’m sure I wrote it down somewhere…

1 Comment»

  Amanda wrote @

You need to go and find those UN bodies dude. Sounds like you need an injection of some western perspective !!!!


Leave a Reply

