Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Buddha’s birthday (Part 2)

On Friday and Saturday the Buddha’s birthday was celebrated here, most of which I somehow managed to miss out on. Friday was Gagra for me, and Saturday I missed the prayer, meditation and candle lighting ceremonies in Moanoghar’s meditation centre. I hope my monks can find it in their hearts to forgive me. But I did however make it to the lunch, so I didn’t totally disappoint.

The Buddha statue in the meditation centre

The Buddha statue in the meditation centre

Not sure if you can really see it in the photo above, but the white mountainy looking thing in front of the Buddha is made of sticky rice. I don’t really get it. Anyway, the Buddha and cabinet/stand thing were both shipped over from South Korea when Buddhadatta completed the meditation centre building project. (Buddhadatta lived in Seoul for 10 years). 

And below are some kiddies enjoying the day out. 

Kiddies

Kiddies

And just because I thought it was quite hysterical… a photo from Gagra.

 

It's fame really has spread to all 4 corners...

It's fame really has spread to all 4 corners...

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

