Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Today I do naafing

Today, I do nothing. Well I’ll watch some DVDs and mess around on the tinternet and wash some clothes. I wash my own clothes here, by hand. And it’s about as much fun as it sounds. I plan to outsource this activity soon. But mostly, I’ll be doing nothing.

I fancy a day hiding from the world. I don’t get much (any) anonymity here, going to buy some eggs in the local shop can be somewhat of a trial, what with all the crowds and all. Ok, maybe we can’t call them crowds, but a few people tend to gather, get involved and I get asked a lot of questions. Usually it’s really just the same question that gets asked alot, ‘what country are you from’. Mostly I find it entertaining and the interaction is fun. But one can tire of it sometimes, and just want to retreat into a hermit’s cave and stay there for the day. Today is one of those days.

Except I will have to venture out at some point to buy my bus ticket to Dhaka. Currently planned for around 5pm, when the weather here is actually rather pleasant.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

