Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

How not to get your laundry done

Dinner with the students went well last night. Buddhadatta had a word with them before the dinner, advising of correct dinner table etiquette, from an English perspective. i.e. don’t eat as quickly as you possibly can so that you can leave earlier, try to make conversation with the host etc. I don’t think any of them had actually been invited to a dinner before so it was a new experience for them. And they performed beautifully. And I think they had fun. As by way of proof, I present a photo of them smiling for the camera (standard Bangladeshi camera pose is dead pan). Ok, I demanded they smile, but it looks like they mean it. Doesn’t it?

The Dinner

The Dinner

Oh, and note to self: Do not play ‘guess the badeshi’s age’ with the students again. They guessed my age at 40. FORTY. I don’t even know what to say about that. 

It’s been another productive day at work, a presentation for a group from a Japanese NGO who were visiting. And tonight I swing past the laundry I found last week to pick up my clean clothes, before going for dinner at my Executive Director’s house. I’d slightly miscalculated my clothing situation and now desperately require some clean clothes. Actually I desperately required clean clothes a few days ago, but laundry here takes almost a week. So I’ve had to make do. Again, probably not so pretty right now. Important lesson learnt last week at laundry: they don’t do underwear. Shame, another moment where I embarrassed poor Memory (and laundry man) by having to rummage through my laundry bag to remove my knickers. One day I’ll get it right and not embarrass myself/anyone else for like a whole day.

1 Comment»

  sarah wrote @

You have such a wonderful blog…just love it.
I can fully understand your pain of ‘not having water in tabs’ in your other post….but hey, you are brave and cool!

Thank you!


Leave a Reply

