Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Obsession with all things Saffa

Currently I’m spending a lot of my time online perusing all things South African. The Mail & Guardian website, Saffa blogs etc. South Africans are so funnny. Well, the news isn’t funny, more tragic. But the politics is pretty hysterical. Since being here, I think far more about South Africa than I do about England. My heart still very much belongs to my homeland, even though I haven’t lived there in almost 11 years (wow) and I’m now the proud owner of a British passport (it was a long hard struggle to get that baby – where there is a will, there is a way in).

I get asked quite a lot where I will go’home’ to when I leave here. Which is an interesting question, and one I can’t answer right now. For a looong time I never seriously considered living in South Africa again. Well, post SA holiday blues always brought out the standard ‘I’m moving back as soon as I’ve saved x amount of money’ spiel. Which we all knew was never actually going to happen.

So can I do it now? Could I get a decent job? Could I handle the acute and ‘I’m so cool it’s painful’ clique-iness of Cape Town full time? Could I handle the personal safety issues? Surely I couldn’t live in Jo’burg? 

What I could handle is the summer. And the 9-5 (and not a minute later) CT work ethic. And the beach. And living in the same city as my twin sister again (how long before we’d kill each other I wonder?). But there is other, big stuff to consider. Like will anyone actually talk to me when I go out?

2 Comments»

  Amanda wrote @

Ha ha ha ha !! I love it. I’m willing to open a betting book on how long it will take for the sister deul at dawn🙂 But as you say, if there is a will there is a way. Erm, and all the Saffers I know are gainfully employed – so jobs there must be ?

  estellevisagie wrote @

Ja, it won’t be long before there is a duel at dawn… that is the Visagie way isn’t it. Who knows, let’s see what 2010 brings.


Leave a Reply

