Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Missing

Maybe it’s my cold. Maybe it’s the the self imposed hermitage of this weekend. Maybe it’s the 30Rock viewing-fest. But I was missing my old life something tragic yesterday.

I miss office banter.
I miss being challenged intellectually.
I miss the thrill of achieving.
I miss meeting up with friends in the city after work for impromptu crazy nights.
I miss electricity that stays On.All.The.Time.
I miss cooking with a glass of good red wine.
I miss my gym.
I miss seeing my nephew growing up too fast.
I miss my sisters.
I miss my friends.
I miss quiet Saturday nights in after big Friday nights out.
I miss dancing in my kitchen.
I miss cheesy music.
I miss eye candy.
I miss flirting.

Does this mean I miss London? No, but I miss what London represents. And I miss the people. Well I miss MY people. Oh, and the men.

*Sigh*

P.S. Feeling MUCH better today. Physically and otherwise.

4 Comments»

  Amanda wrote @

Obviously feeling better is you are talking about men …. actually, thinking about it, you didn’t talk about men when you were in london. Hmm …. obviously having no eye candy is getting to you …. But hang on, Bali will be FULL of Ozzie surfers. Trust me😉

  estellevisagie wrote @

Yes, it’s all rather tragic in my life right now isn’t it. But bring on Bali 2009!! Sjoe, the excitement is almost palpable.

  Gill wrote @

Hmmm…..I had thought last night that what you are doing is such a great idea. Especially as I am “retiring” at the end of the month…..which for me is like 17 days away. BUT then I read all the stuff you miss Estelle & thought, oh shit. I am SURE I will vrek without msot of those thigns too. EIsh wena. Without my friends I am history. Only so much introspection one can do ne!!! Does this mean we are city slickers??? Hmmmm????
Glad you are feeling better. I worry if you have a woes headache? Had that at least gone now?
Cheers
Gill

  estellevisagie wrote @

Hey Gill
Headache is gone, thank god. Yes, this can be very tough going sometimes. I guess I’m going through a bit of low right now, but it is expected a few months in, so have been waiting for it to hit. It’s still the experience of a lifetime, but one must be honest about the reality. How exciting about ‘retirement’ though! There must be loads of great options for you that don’t involve such a major life change😉
Estelle


Leave a Reply

