Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Sigh

So I’m in Dhaka for a few days now, with members of my organisation trying to deal with the issues happening in the office.

What’s happening is not nice, it’s not funny, and it’s not clever.

We should know in the next few days what the future holds, and if I’ll still actually be working for Moanoghar. No, it’s nothing I’ve done that is causing any of this, it’s people using their political power to further their own personal agendas and attend to their damaged egos. And to pocket some cash along the way. It’s the work of people external to Moanoghar, and without legal basis. But I’m in Bangladesh, so legal basis, schmegal basis. Welcome to the developing world Estelle.

This has been a valuable lesson for me to learn. This is actually how the world works. It’s not all nice where everyone plays fair. 

I was actually quite upset about this all last night, but today I’m more pragmatic and a bit more Zen about the whole business. You must take life the way it comes at you and make the best of it.

So now I’m off to do some soul enriching activities this afternoon. Like eating ice cream and getting season 3 of the Sopranos. Both of which will make me feel a LOT better. And to pick up a parcel at the post office. Well, I’m hoping it’s just picking it up, because I have no idea why they are holding it hostage and haven’t sent it to the VSO office. Either way, I’m not leaving without my parcel. It’s either from Amanda or James. So exciting! I love mail. 

In other news: I’m not the owner of a new car. I don’t think. Which is a pity as I’d already mentally spent the cash equivalent.

2 Comments»

  Amanda wrote @

Could it be the elusive package of (must be melted) chocolate and book ? Or chocolate covered book by now ? Sheesh .. sounds hectic stuff bru. Oh well … trust in things happening for a reason and all that …..

  estellevisagie wrote @

It\’s the yogurt maker and laptop case, thanks doll. And extra thanks for the earrings! Lovely lovely. And yes, things happen for a reason so we\’ll see what becomes of this. Maybe we just carry on as before, who knows. I\’ll keep you posted.


Leave a Reply

