Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

* click *

You’ll notice I’ve added what is known as the SocialVibe widget onto my blog (look to the right). It’s this cool thing where I select a charity, and then a sponsor who will donate money to said charity based on the amount of people who click the button and perform some kind of task (like rate a video, or answer a question on their products).

Ok, so I can’t quite get the colours I want (colour schemes are very important to me). Nor can I seem to change the sponsor I have selected. But neither of those is important. 

The important bit is the charity.

Charity:Water

It is a non-profit organization bringing clean and safe drinking water to people in developing nations. 1 billion people don’t have access to save drinking water. That is 1 in 6 of us. Dirty water and lack of basic sanitation kills 4,500 children EVERYDAY. 

As someone who has been known to moan like a stuffed pig about having to collect my (safe) drinking water from a close by outside tap, I’d like to say I feel their pain. But really, I don’t. I have no idea what it’s like to have to give dirty water to your children knowing it could kill them.

So go for it. Click away. Please. With my sponsor you have to rate a video. For those of you at work – come one, do you REALLY have anything better to do? For everyone else, you know its for a good cause. How could you NOT help. It’s FREE. And I think the video has women in bikinis, if that helps persuade anyone out there. I *think* because my internet connection is so slow and my patience is too short to wait for it to fully load. 

So all aboard please. And sermon over. O-V-A-H. 

P.S. Yes, it is obviously a means of advertising for the sponsors. But why shouldn’t the corporate and charity sectors work together in a mutually beneficial way. Surely that is the only real way forward anyway. Think about it. You know it makes sense.

2 Comments»

  Amanda wrote @

I might just forward this to a 1000 or so of my closest friends. Jack and I are off the the post office to post next installment of some western relief for above charidee worker ….

  estellevisagie wrote @

Oh YAY! On both counts. Thanks doll.


Leave a Reply

