Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Let’s do this thing

Yesterday, was the meeting. THE meeting when it would finally be decided if I’d have to sack everything in, pack up and find pastures elsewhere to attend to this need of mine to ‘make a difference’.

And it seemed to all go the right way. The current Executive Committee is staying (with a few minor, non-controversial changes), and (barring any radical departure from the productive and positive AGM yesterday), I think I can finally start doing some actual W.O.R.K. here.

I have used the recent down time pretty* productively. I’ve planned the remaining 8 months (when I get back from Bali) of this placement down to quite a fine level. I’ve done a lot of reading and research on organisational development and now know, broadly speaking, what I want to do and how I want to do it. It’s ‘participatory workshop’ this, and ‘focus group discussion’ that. VSO should be proud.

It’s also, however, a little daunting now. IF everyone here is receptive to this plan, and will commit the time to making things actually happen, then I’ll have no convenient backup excuse if it doesn’t work. I’ve tried to be as realistic as possible about what I want to do, added enough padding in the plan, and tailored it to their capacity and of course, needs. I’ve made various revisions, lots of ‘is this concept too complicated’, ‘will they get this’, ‘am i using the best tools to get the message across’ type of conversations with myself.

In retrospect, this recent lull has been a bit of a blessing in disguise. I feel much more confident and ready to start tackling the issues in a more cohesive and structured way. Who knew.

Life does hand out little challenges sometimes that force us to slow down and really look what what we’re doing. Gives us a chance to reflect. To learn. To change. Life is good like that sometimes.

So let’s see.

* Not 100%productively. I did have a holiday in Bali to plan after all.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

