Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Back ‘home’

I travelled back to Rangamati from Dhaka yesterday. I had put it off for a few days as I just knew how painful the experience would be. It always is. Left flat at 6:30am, only to find out I didn’t have the key for the new lock on the external door and had to wake the landlord up. He does so love us VSO’ers. Rickshaw man had no idea where I wanted to go, even though I swear I say the same thing every time I need to get to my bus stop. Caught bus at 7am, got across Dhaka and was then told we’ve have to wait 2 hours at some shitty bus counter for the ‘proper’ bus to take us further. Our lunch stop didn’t comprise of any actual food, must be this whole Ramadan thing…

Arrived here at about 7pm. My return was cheered up by good old Memory who brought round some food, and by my neighbours telling me I look black. I guess that means I have a good tan.

It’s good to be back. I feel much less depressed now. I think Dhaka is definitely the worst ‘hit’ of reality, and anything after that is easy. Have to do massive spring clean of my flat, the spiders have taken over and pretty much all my clothes and some of my furniture have developed some level of mould. This happens in humid countries. So a portion of this weekend will be spent washing and scrubbing etc. And also figuring out what the next steps, work-wise, are. I vaguely remember putting a plan together before I left. Now where did I put it….

5 Comments»

  Amanda wrote @

Don’t know if you’ll find it on BBC i-player but watched a Rick Stein episode last night on Bangladesh. Showed lost of clips of Dhaka and somewhere else in the NE …. catch it if you can. P.S. Welcome back !

  estellevisagie wrote @

Ooh, thanks for that, will definitely check it out. How exciting! Maybe ol’ Rick can tell me what I can get some decent food in the big smoke. x

  estellevisagie wrote @

Found it, but not yet available to view online. Will check again tom. x

  Will wrote @

Hi there,

Yes do watch it, Rick absolutely raved about the food. Gives lots of tips on what is fab to eat. Was even amazed by the ‘floor knife’ thing you mentioned!

Hope all well and mould is gone, you really do need Domestos out there!

  estellevisagie wrote @

Damn BBC iPlayer only works in the UK. But have tracked it down on YouTube. I can’t wait to see what food he has raved about, because I haven’t found anything worth writing home about. Come on Rick, show me something wonderful…

Yes, bring Domestos out to Bangladesh! Quite the market here for it.


Leave a Reply

