Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Beans on toast

Not just any beans, but Heinz beans. And not just beans, but with cheese on top. And not just toast, but with butter (have eventually found some in Rangamati)

What a dinner.

Pushed the boat out and bought Heinz beans and cheese in Dhaka. The sheer extravagance of it all. Living on a VSO allowance, cheese is pretty dear. A block costs about 500 taka, and my allowance is 10, 400 a month. So two blocks of cheese a month (eeeeasy-peasy lemon-squeasy in my normal life) is 10% of my allowance. Ain’t that something. And this isn’t lovely gooey, smelly French cheese, this is bog standard Australian cheddar.

After my year in Bangladesh, I fear for my safety when let loose in a cheese aisle back in the first world.

2 Comments»

  Julie wrote @

I really do think cheese would be the clear winner of “the thing I miss most while living in Bangladesh” contest.

  estellevisagie wrote @

Totally. Sometimes I dream in cheese.


Leave a Reply

