Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Home maker

The good thing about exercising in the mornings is that I don’t have to boil water for a warm bucket shower. Hot and sweaty meets ice cold water works out pretty well, as I discovered this morning.

Yesterday, I baked bread. My very first bread baking experience (I think? I’m pretty damn sure I’ve never been bored enough to do it before). And the bread rocks. Electricity played along perfectly and stayed on ALL day (give or take a few second cuts every now and then). I can buy bread here, but it has so much sugar in it that it tastes like cake. Turns out bread is really easy to make. Takes a while with all the kneading, rising, kneading and rising again, but well worth the effort. Nothing like warm, just out of the oven, freshly baked bread.

Unfortunately I have agaaaain hit a cash flow problem, so can’t afford butter for my lovely fresh bread. How sad am I. I over spent in Dhaka (always) and miscalculated how much I’d need for the rest of the month (this become a regular occurrence). And no cash point in Rangamati = no cash. I can’t ask work for an advance, as it’s only the 4th of December. That’s just too embarrassing to admit. I am however saving my last 1000 taka to catch the posh night bus to Dhaka on Wednesday (first stop = cash point), so I’m keeping my priorities straight. BUT I do have some quality olive oil (I’m beginning to see where my money goes…), so I did the European thing of dipping the bread in olive oil, and did the South African thing by adding salt. SUPER healthy. I also roasted a head of garlic to go with my bread. De-lish.

And can I take the opportunity to reconfirm my love for all things Delia. Ok fine, she’s outdated and has the personality of a pot plant when it comes to hosting a cooking show on telly (the Guardian had a great article on Delia here), but her recipes are the bomb. Fool proof. As proved by me.

3 Comments»

  Julie wrote @

I now know who to give my excellent copy of the movie Julie & Julia to.

  estellevisagie wrote @

Ha. Maybe I should go through the A-Z of Bangladeshi cooking for the remainder of my time here. But I expect I won’t get much further than A (A = Arrgh not dhal and rice again…)

  Julie wrote @

B = biryani? It’s a wedding, after all.


Leave a Reply

