Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

I’m proud to have a British passport* this Christmas…

Rage Against the Machine has won the battle for the UK Christmas No 1 single, with Killing In The Name, a.k.a Fuck you I won’t do what you tell me…

Hysterical. I love the fact to half a million people went out (well, went online) to buy the single just to ensure that the X Factor winner didn’t make it to No 1 AGAIN this year. And it’s a great song (who doesn’t like singing that line…). And RATM are donating all profits from the single to the homeless charity Shelter. What a lovely Christmas tale.

I just love this type of irreverence by the British. It’s not all saccharine sweet and sugar coated fairy tales over there. Sometimes it’s just ‘fuck you I won’t do what you tell me’.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2009/dec/20/rage-against-machine-christmas-number-1

* along with my lovely, as useful as a chocolate fireguard South African passport

PS I have actually *ahem* watched X Factor religiously every winter. I mean, what else is there to do on cold Saturday night, when everyone else is indoors watching it. It makes for great TV, but not for great music.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

