Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

The Haircut

What WAS I thinking?

Lessons learnt:

– impromptu haircuts while out shopping after work are ill advised. This is especially true when living in Bangladesh.

– when the hairdresser in the ‘salon’ is threading someone’s eyebrows when you arrive, and giving someone else a facial when you leave, caution should be exercised.

– there are three options for women’s haircuts in Bangladesh a) straight b) step and c) shaggy. No further descriptions are given on these three options.

– wet hair is not a prerequisite for a haircut in Bangladesh. Nor is a quick comb through first. The first thing that comes out is the pair of scissors. It was sit down, and BANG scissors to hair. Chop, chop, chop.

– a haircut for £1.20 is unlikely to be a good one.

As a special Christmas treat for myself, I am now the proud owner of a ‘shaggy’. Can’t say it’s my best haircut (it’s currently vying for worst haircut, along with the time when I ended up with short hair, by mistake), but it certainly was the most fun. I was officially the first foreigner in the salon, and the hairdresser plans to not throw my hair away, but keep it as evidence.

Re Christmas: Upon hearing that I am staying in Rangers for Christmas, Buddha Datta (monk) has arranged a Christmas lunch for me in his meditation centre, with the Moanoghar ladies. And I have been given my first Christmas present, some sweet curd. From Jhimmi, who talked me into the haircut tonight…I’m glad I’m staying here for Christmas, in my lovely Rangamati with one special monk and some crazy ladies. It might sound like a sad Christmas, but really it’s not. Sure, I’d rather be with my family and friends, but that is what next Christmas is for. This Christmas is for this experience, which I’ll never get a chance to repeat. Christmas: Chakma style.

I’ll leave you with the words of VSO Bangladesh’s Christmas email to us:

Dear all,

Happy Merry Christmas to all of you.

Heavenly Joy and Peace comes in the World through the Born of Jesus Christ

Wishing you a bright Merry Christmas and A Bright Happy New Year 2010.

Take care and have a peaceful life.

Blessing GOD bless you.

Love it!

2 Comments»

  Gill Spreeth wrote @

Hi Estelle.
Sorry that I have not been in contact for bloody well AGES!! Well I was wondering what you’d be up to for Christmas? So here I have it. Did you find a party and a man or at least some rum??? Probably the easiest in all senses is the RUM!! Hee hee.
Hope all is good with you.
Am just back from 2 weeks in Cozumel Island, Mehico!! It was really fab in all aspects. My friend David (London) did the Ironman there so we went for that & a holiday afterwards. It was really loads of fun with lots of sun, sea, snorkelling and RUM!!
London was cool……landed up at the Buddha Bar for the birthday in the end. It was really great. I loved it all. Then to the CLAMPHAM GRAND!! Yes we did????WHY I ask myself??
Well look forward to the next news!!
Was lovely to see the Dixon’s here before I headed off for London & then Mexico.
Take care now.
Cheers
Gill xx

  estellevisagie wrote @

Hi Gill
Nice to hear from you again. Sounds like you’ve been having right old adventure yourself, travel wise. And the Clapham Grand?! How could you! Ja, truth be told I’ve ended up there waaaaay more times than I’d like to admit. Does the chess-like dance floor still light up? Do they still play only cheesy 80’s and 90’s pop? A recipe for a fun filled night if you ask me, with lots of laughing at the mayhem on the dance floor. Right now, I’d kill for a proper night out, even in the Clapham Grand. Sad times socially here, sad times….Take care and enjoy summer. x


Leave a Reply

