Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

The world’s longest beach

Here I am now, in Cox’s Bazar, allegedly the world’s longest beach. I think this is disputed and there are a few beaches in India, Australia and NZ that also claim this title. But world’s longest or not, its long. Reportedly a 125km stretch of unbroken coast.

Not that I’ve seen it yet. Arrived after dark last night, just in time to catch the last day of the VSO annual conference today. Due to doctors and hospital appointments in Dhaka (given the all clear, no reason to panic), I’ve missed the first 2 days. But I’ve arrived in time for the half day wrap and sight seeing day. Excellent timing. The theme of the conference this year as Monitoring and Evaluation. For 3 days………………….                         Sorry, I fell asleep there for a minute. Dullsville. Yawn. Snore.

However the general anger and all round pissed-offness of the volunteers has apparently livened up the sessions somewhat. There are a lot of unhappy volunteers in Bangladesh right now. Which I think it a theme of volunteering with VSO in this country. LOTS of issues. I stay about as far away from the programme office as I can, and don’t volunteer for any extra curricular activities. Ja, a volunteer who doesn’t volunteer…. But I think this has saved my sanity, if general mood of this conference is anything to go by.

There are plans for a swim later. But we’ll see. It could get messy out there. A large group of foreigners. On a beach. In Bangladesh. Let’s see how much we can take.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

