Postcards from the Edge

of Bangladesh

Can someone have a word with USAID please

For the last few days of Tony’s two weeks here, we’re going to try turn some very rough ideas for some USAID funding into something looking like a project proposal. Or at least into something resembling a log-frame (logical framework). A few days really isn’t enough time to do much, but we can at least develop some ideas.

And now, a word on USAID… the project proposal guidelines are 131 pages long, in English. One hundred and thirty one pages. I barely have the wherewithal and stamina to read through it all. In fact, I haven’t read through it all yet. And I honestly don’t think I will. I’ve tried, but I lose the will to live by page 3. Now these 131 pages are something that NGOs in underdeveloped countries must use to try figure out just what USAID want/are looking for in project proposals. How on earth can anyone who doesn’t have English as their first language navigate through all that crap to get to the bits that are actually important? Talk about immediately alienating the very communities who desperately need funding. Straight away most (all?) local NGOs are out of the race because the guidelines are so forking complicated.

Someone have a word please.

PS This has to be the loooooongest two weeks ever. I feel like I’ve aged about 5 years in the last 2 weeks. And at my age, that’s not a good thing. I’m one of Tony’s biggest fans, but I can’t wait for some downtime. Some me time. Some ‘don’t even think of knocking on my door’ time.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

